Hoover municipal election candidates set

Published 4:41 pm Wednesday, July 20, 2016

The list of candidates seeking office in Hoover has been finalized.

Qualifying ended at 5 p.m. Tuesday, with three candidates, including incumbent Gary Ivey, seeking the office of mayor and at least two candidates vying for each of the City Council’s seven seats.

The Council will have at least three new faces after the Aug. 23 election.

Council President Jack Wright and Councilman John Natter are not seeking re-election, while Council Place 6 has been vacant since the passing of Brian Skelton.

All candidates who qualified for the upcoming election are listed below.

•Mayor: Frank Brocato, Gary Ivey (incumbent), Steve McClinton.

•Council Place 1: Trey D. Lott, Curt Posey, Joe Rives (i).

•Council Place 2: Gene Smith (i), Sam Swiney.

•Council Place 3: John Lyda (i), Arnold A. Singer.

•Council Place 4: Michael J. Holt, Mike Shaw, Joel Smith.

•Council Place 5: Derrick Murphy, Dan Ellis.

•Council Place 6: Jason DeLuca, Casey Middlebrooks.

•Council Place 7: John Greene (i), Robin Schultz.