ACS names Superintendent’s Advisory Committee members

Published 11:28 am Friday, October 14, 2016

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – Several students from each Alabaster school will have a say in the school system’s future after they were named to the Superintendent’s Advisory Committee for the 2016-2017 school year.

The committee meets about four times each year with Alabaster School Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers and his central office staff to provide input from a student’s perspective and to learn more about how the school system operates.

“We have a very active advisory committee that provides a lot of good input, and has a lot of opportunities to interact with the central office staff,” Vickers said during an Oct. 13 Board of Education meeting. “Being named to this committee is a great honor, because they are representing the 6,058 students in the Alabaster City School System.”

During the quarterly meetings, the students share their thoughts on the school system’s programs and offerings, which Vickers said ACS takes into account when making decisions about the system.

“They provide input about what’s going on in the world of the students, which is very important to us,” Vickers said. “We learn so much from the students about what is important to them, and that plays a vital role in how we approach things and what we do.”

ACS Coordinator of Exceptional Education Dr. Keri Johnson and School Board member Ty Quarles said being selected to the committee speaks volumes about the students.

“To be selected to be on this committee says a lot about you, how you carry yourself and what people think of you, so keep it up,” Quarles said.

“When we meet, it’s the most fun we have,” Johnson said. “We get a lot of good input from this group, and we look forward to meeting with them.”

The following students are members of this year’s advisory committee:

Creek View Elementary

Lauren Blackmon

Jace Powell

Emma Roberson

Meadow View Elementary


Maddie Johnson

Jacob Rylee

Kaelci Theiru

Thompson Intermediate

Fourth grade – Sasha Gann

Fourth grade – Cooper Dorough

Fifth grade – Ashlyn Gamble

Fifth grade – Tucker Arrington

Thompson Sixth Grade Center

Katherine Cruz Duenas

Olivia Douglas

Matthew Crumpton

Thompson Middle



Layla Baker

Kaylee Addison

Andrew Wilson


Tori Williams

Leanna Robinson

Braydon Gray

Thompson High


Shanan Sturgill

Noah Tanner


Lizbeth Angel

Rondell Smith

Will Vickers


Gabby Lozito

Tanner Wilson

Jillian Harris


Jackson Singletary

Sarah Messer