Evangel wins 2016 ACSC State Championship

Published 1:40 am Saturday, November 5, 2016

By ALEC ETHEREDGE | Staff Writer

ALABASTER – The Evangel Christian School football team got a strong performance from quarterback Micah Murphy who led his team to 459 yards of total offense, 235 through the air and close to another 235 on the ground, to propel his team to the 2016 ACSC state championship.

Evangel would end up taking down Ezekiel by a final score of 68-30 to take home the title.

The Lightning would start the scoring on a two play 14-yard drive that featured an 11-yard touchdown pass from Murphy to wide receiver Logan Smith, which put Evangel on top 7-0.

On the night, Evangel had scoring drives of one play four times, two plays twice, three plays twice, four plays once and five plays once.

The highlight of the night was when Murphy took a 79-yard run to the house for one of the one play drives in the third quarter with 2:26 left. This was a stretch where they went on three consecutive one play drives in less than 2:30 of game time, scoring 21 points in that time span.

Cameron Kimbrel, Tyler Parks and William O’Neal added 57 more yards on the ground, while Adam Hyde led all receivers with 98 yards. Mason McEvoy added 86 more yards receiving along with 40 from Jake Byers and 11 from Logan Smith.

The All-Conference Team included MVP Micah Murphy; running back Brad Baggett; receiver Mason McEvoy: linemen Jake Byers, Jordan Maxa, Jordan Bailey and Logan Smith; linebacker John Lloyd and safety/defensive back Luke Baylis.