THS band members earn end-of-season awards

Published 9:04 am Tuesday, November 15, 2016

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – Members of Thompson High School’s Marching Southern Sounds band earned recognition for everything from marching for several years to displaying outstanding leadership and soloist skills during the band’s annual end-of-season banquet on Nov. 14.

During the banquet, which was held in the Thompson Middle School cafeteria, THS Director of Bands Jon Bubbett presented dozens of awards in several categories. Many of the award winners were nominated by their peers.

“Every single person here deserves an award,” Bubbett told the hundreds of band and visual ensemble members. “Students, the award I hope you take home with you tonight is all the experiences that you had this fall, and the way it made you feel. But to me, the biggest thing is how you can make others feel.

“You’ve all been fantastic, and a privilege to work with, and I sincerely mean that,” Bubbett added.

The following students earned awards in the following categories:

Soloist Awards – Band

Alex Franck – Horn – “Bring Him Home”

Chandler Yessick – Trumpet – “Bring Him Home”

Leah Warman – Trombone – “Master of the House”

Joe Ardovino – Trumpet – “Master of the House”

Chandler Yessick – Trumpet – “Master of the House”

Trent Decker – Trombone – “Master of the House”

Luis Garcia-Barnett – Horn – “Master of the House”

Alex Franck – Horn – “Master of the House”

Liam Datka – Trumpet – “Amazing Grace” “National Anthem”

Jarod Davis – Trumpet – “Amazing Grace” “National Anthem”

Chandler Yessick – Trumpet – “Amazing Grace” “National Anthem

Sarah Moran – Piccolo – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Jonah Buckhannon – Piccolo – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Johnathon Franklin – Tuba – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Chance Walker – Euphonium – “Do You Hear The People Sing?” Xenifer Lamp

Joe Ardovino – Trumpet – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Chandler Yessick – Trumpet – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Alex Franck – Horn – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Leah Warman – Trombone – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Soloist Awards – Visual Ensemble

Gretchen Moore – Majorette – “At The End of the Day”

Sarah Talley – Majorette – “At The End of the Day”

Charnell Sewell – Guard – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Olivia Railey – Guard – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Katie Atchison – Guard – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Xenifer Lamp – Guard – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Lesleigh Murphy – Guard – “Do You Hear The People Sing?”

Drum Majors

Belle Swanner

Kaci Melton

Steven Locastro

Five Year Marchers Award

Lauren Shirley

Four Year Marchers Award

Hannah Bevan

Jared Brickhouse

Deshawn Brown

Jonah Buckhannon

Liam Datka

Jarod Davis

Owen Dennis

Johnathon Franklin

Kody Godette

Ben Gould

Hannah Griffeth

Natalie Henderson

JT Holdbrooks

Robert Knighten

Brandon Lee

Morgan McCaa

Kaci Melton

Maury Milstead

Michelle Moore

Gretchen Moore

Holleyanna Nolen

Shrijan Pant

Neal Peete

Zoie Puckett

Kelly Reynolds

Kyle Searchfield

Charnell Sewell

Noah Shaner

Devon Shepard

Hannah Slater

Belle Swanner

Teah Thompson

Tayia Von Walsung

Chance Walker

Chrislyn Walker

Leah Warman

Chandler Yessick

Three Year Marchers Award

Gemali Alacantra

Amber DeRamus

Zoe Hatch

Ryan Housey

Hannah O’Brien

Outstanding Bandsmen Award

Freshman: A.J. Oliff

Sophomore: Sarah Moran

Junior: Joe Ardovino

Senior: Leah Warman

Outstanding Section Member

Alto Sax: Morgan McCaa

Clarinet: Michelle Moore

Dancer: Chrislyn Walker

Euphonium: Kellie Vosteen

Flute: Samantha Fell

Guard: Zoe Hatch

Horn: Alex Franck

Majorette: Gretchen Moore

Percussion Battery: Parker Brown

Percussion Front Ensemble: Robby Knighten

Tenor Sax: Seth Lee

Trombone: Leah Warman

Trumpet: Joe Ardovino

Tuba: Johnathon Franklin

Golden Dinkle Award

Ethan Hall

Amber Deramus

Ben Gould

Chandler Yessick

Christian Walker

Ethan Hall

Jonah Buckhannon

Kody Godette

Parker Brown

Sarah Moran

Toby Keahey

Zoe Hatch

Jesse Shirley