ACS honors its Teachers of the Year

Published 10:21 am Monday, January 16, 2017

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – Teachers at each Alabaster school earned some time in the spotlight on Jan. 12, as the city’s Board of Education honored all of the system’s Teachers of the Year.

Before the meeting, School Board members and ACS staff held a reception in the lobby of Alabaster City Hall for each school’s Teacher of the Year, and recognized each top teacher during the board meeting.

“This group we are recognizing tonight is top-notch,” said Alabaster School Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers. “I truly feel honored to be able to recognize you tonight.”

Each school’s Teacher of the Year was selected by their peers during the fall semester. The following teachers were named Teachers of the Year at their schools:

-Creek View Elementary School: Stephanie Cochran

-Meadow View Elementary School: Lindsey Thigpen

-Thompson Intermediate School: Matt Wilson

-Thompson Sixth Grade Center: Amber Willis

-Thomson Middle School: Ron Munday

-Thompson High School: Debbie DeCroes

After receiving each school’s nominations, ACS central office staff members selected the school system’s overall Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year. Willis will represent ACS as the elementary district winner and DeCroes will represent the system on the secondary level.

The two teachers selected for the district awards will now be eligible for the state’s Teacher of the Year honors.

Wilson was also named the Jacksonville State University Teacher of the Year nominee.

“This is the best group to work with, and we are just very blessed here in Alabaster,” said School Board member Linda Church.

“There’s no better place to live and raise children than right here in Alabaster,” School Board member Ty Quarles added.