SCS to honor support professionals of the year May 18

Published 2:54 pm Thursday, April 20, 2017


COLUMBIANA–The Shelby County School District will honor all of the individuals who were named 2016-2017 Education Support Professionals of the Year for their local schools or district departments on Thursday, May 18 at the Central Office in Columbiana.

A reception will be held at 4 p.m., with a recognition ceremony to follow at 4:30 p.m.

Honorees will include the overall winners from several job classification categories and one overall district-wide winner for Education Support Personnel of the Year.  The winners were nominated and elected by their co-workers from their local schools or departments. The winners each submitted essays detailing why they love their jobs, along with a letter of support from their principal or department supervisor to be considered for the overall category awards. A judging committee selected the category winners, along with an overall winner who will be named during the recognition ceremony on May 18.

The category winners are:

–Shirley Chumley, Bookkeeper, Helena High – Accounting

–Melinda Hooten, Custodian, Oak Mountain Middle – Custodial

–Darlene Malinoski, Child Nutrition Program Manager,  Mt Laurel Elementary – Food Service

–Amanda Glass, paraeducator, Calera Intermediate – Instructional

–James Hall, Bus Driver, Calera Zone  – Transportation

–Russell Bentley, Maintenance Technician, Forest Oaks Elementary – Maintenance

–Jenny Franklin – Secretary for Special Education, Shelby County Special Services Center – Secretarial

The other individuals who will be honored as a local school or department winner are (by category):


–Bethany Hutton, payroll staff accountant, Central Office

–Lacey Brackner, bookkeeper, Chelsea High

–Karen Duke, bookkeeper, Calera Middle


–Alfonza Bradford, custodian, Vincent Middle/High

–Lori Orth, custodian, Oak Mountain High

–Sue Brown, custodian, Shelby County College and Career Center

–Bob Stricklin, custodian, Montevallo Elementary

–Rodney Moore, Custodian, Chelsea Middle School

Food Service:  

Tammi Taveres, CNP manager, Vincent Elementary


Susan Curtis, paraeducator, Helena Elementary School

–Cynthia Myers, paraeducator, Oak Mountain Elementary

–Rebecca Bryant, school interventionist, Columbiana Middle

–Jami Burns, paraeducator, Montevallo Middle

–Amy Shirley, paraeducator, Shelby Elementary

–Beverly Vick, paraeducator, Elvin Hill Elementary

–Myia Vines, paraeducator, Linda Nolen Learning Center

–Juanita Sharkey, paraeducator, Shelby County High

–Pamela Moore, paraeducator, Chelsea Park Elementary

–John Hughes, paraeducator, Inverness Elementary

–Christi Ellison, paraeducator, Montevallo High


–Ben Fredrick, Maintenance Technican, Calera High School

–Richard Horton, maintenance technician/construction, Maintenance Department


–Julie Brane, secretary, Oak Mountain Intermediate

–Lynn Faulkner, registrar, Helena Intermediate

–Angel Harris, registrar, Wilsonville Elementary

–Lynn Roberts, registrar, Helena Middle

–Deann Scholl, secretary, Calera Elementary

–Wendi Griggs, secretary, Technology Department, Shelby County Instructional Services Center