Alabaster schools again offering summer camps

 

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – Local children in kindergarten through eighth grade will have a chance to participate in camps covering everything from learning sign language to honing music and cooking skills this summer, according to the Alabaster City School System’s Community Education department.

For the fourth straight year, ACS will host several “Champion Camps” beginning in June. The camps will cover many areas of interest, and will be taught by ACS teachers, said Community Education employee Ashley May.

The deadline to register for the camps is May 25, and those interested in registering can do so by contacting the teacher leading the camp. After registering with the teacher, parents should visit www.ezchildtrack.com/alabasterascp/parent to complete the registration process.

The following camps will be held this summer at the following schools:

 

Creek View Elementary School

-Introduction to sign language will be held from June 12-16 for kids in grades first-fourth. To register, contact Temyia.Jackson@acsboe.org.

-Clay camp will be held from June 19-23 for grades first-third and from June 26-30 for grades sixth-eighth. To register, contact Carla.Smith@acsboe.org.

-Engineering FUNdamentals: Create, construct and connect camp will be held from June 26-30 for grades first-fourth. To register, contact Christina.Tomlin@acsboe.org.

 

Meadow View Elementary School

-Investigation stations camp will be held from June 19-23 for grades kindergarten-third. To register, contact April.Price@acsboe.org.

-Tech-know-kids camp will be held from July 10-14 for grades third-fifth. To register, contact Lindsey.Thigpen@acsboe.org.

– Engineering FUNdamentals: Create, construct and connect camp will be held from June 26-30 for grades first-fourth. To register, contact Christina.Tomlin@acsboe.org.

-Crafty kids camp will be held from June 26-30 for grades kindergarten-third. To register, contact April.Price@acsboe.org.

-Summer studio art camp will be held from June 12-16 for grades first-fourth. To register, contact Melissa.Mcmurray@acsboe.org.

-Dynamic dinosaurs camp will be held from June 26-30 for grades kindergarten-third. To register contact either Kayla.Harris@acsboe.org or Michelle.Colburn@acsboe.org.

-Sweet treats camp will be held from June 5-9 for grades first-fourth. To register, contact either Connie.Kakoliris@acsboe.org or Dessilyn.Chappell@acsboe.org.

-STEM superhero camp will be held from June 5-9 for grades second-sixth. To register, contact Fallon.Brantley@acsboe.org.

 

Thompson Intermediate School

-Art camp will be held from June 5-9 for grades fourth-sixth. To register, contact Gaile.Randall@acsboe.org.

-Cooking camp will be held from June 5-9 for grades fourth-sixth. To register, contact Bonnie.Herenu@acsboe.org.

-Music camp will be held from June 5-9 for grades fourth-sixth. To register, contact Bonnie.Herenu@acsboe.org.