State representatives honor Helena individuals and groups

Published 1:31 pm Thursday, June 15, 2017

By GRAHAM BROOKS / Staff Writer

HELENA–Several Alabama state representatives were on-hand at the June 12 Helena City Council meeting to present a number of house and senate resolutions to commend both individuals and organizations in Helena for accomplishing different feats.

Alabama Sen. Cam Ward, Alabama Rep. Matt Fridy and Alabama Rep. Allen Farley were all present to award several resolutions for individuals and sports teams from this past year that accomplished something remarkable that had ties to Helena.

“It’s good to be with you all tonight. Senator Ward, Representative Farley and I am Matt Fridy,” Fridy said. “We’re members of the legislature and we wanted to present some resolutions. One of the things that happens while we’re down in session is a lot of things keep happening and we have to wait until after session is done and we come in with resolutions to present to folks that are very deserving. We’re excited to be with you tonight to be able to make this presentation.”

In all, six different organizations or individuals were honored and presented with resolutions including Helena resident Jamie Griffin for helping save the lives of three children that were drowning in the Gulf of Mexico earlier this year, the family of long-time Helena Police Captain Billy Hinds who passed away weeks ago, the Helena police and fire departments for their response and action associated with the Colonial Pipeline gas leak and gas explosion at the end of 2016, Helena High School sophomore Kirsen Gardner for winning the shot put state title twice this past year and the Helena High School varsity baseball team for defeating Cullman two out of three games to win the 6A state championship.

The representatives took turns reading each House and Senate resolution before presenting it to an individual or team. Each resolution was framed and ready to hang as a keepsake.

The Helena City Council also presented resolutions at the June 12 to congratulate individuals and groups on behalf of the city.