Who earned awards at the THS marching band banquet?

Published 8:43 am Tuesday, November 7, 2017


By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – As the Thompson High School Marching Southern Sounds band celebrated the end of the regular football season on Nov. 6, director Jon Bubbett was sure to let the students know what a special time they are experiencing.

“Guys, as you go on to college and out into the real world, you’ve got to understand that it’s not like this everywhere. There’s something very different about what goes on here,” Bubbett said of the band. “There’s a sense of togetherness and family here, so I want you to savor every moment of it, soak it up with every fiber of your being and then share it with others.”

For the past several years, the school’s band banquet, which is held in the Thompson Middle School cafeteria, has come at the end of the football game marching season. This year is different, as the Warriors are eyeing a deep playoff run following an undefeated regular season.

During the banquet, the band celebrated its achievements and awarded individual honors for work done during the regular football season and the band’s multiple marching competition appearances.

“The band has a lot of moving parts. It takes a lot of people for this program to work, from students, parents, administrators and THS and ACS and our wonderful staff members,” Bubbett said. “Alabaster City Schools has been a great supporter of the band. If you don’t believe that, just wait until next month when you see the new bandroom (at the city’s new high school).”

The following individuals earned awards during the banquet:


Soloist awards:

Parker Brown – Snare – “Arabian Nights”

Alex Franck – Horn – “Arabian Nights”

Joe Ardovino Jr. – Trumpet – “Arabian Nights”

Trent Decker – Trombone – “Arabian Nights”

Rebecca Keith – Oboe – “Riches”

Rebecca Keith – Oboe – “Love”

Alex Franck – Horn – “Love”

Alex Franck – Horn – “Friend Like Me”

Joe Ardovino Jr. – Trumpet – “Friend Like Me”

Trent Decker – Trombone – “Friend Like Me”

Rebecca Keith – Oboe – “Friend Like Me”

Joe Ardovino – “Amazing Grace”

Alex Jordan – “Amazing Grace”

Joe Ardovino – “National Anthem”

Alex Jordan – “National Anthem”


Drum majors:

Savannah Belle

Samantha Fell

Steven Locastro


Four-year marchers:

Alex Franck

Alexandria Jordan

Ana Elisa Sevilla

Asa Render

Bishop Weidenbach

Brendan South

Caroline Porterfield

Charles McLean

Christopher Guerin

Dalton Trimmer

Daniel Sturdivant

Daniel Turner

David Armstrong

Dylan Watts

Elizabeth Craft

Emma Blaising

Garrett Fortenberry

Graison Smith

Grant Forbes

Hannah Keiser

Hunter Crandall

Jared Rose

Joe Ardovino Jr.

Joseph Lide

Kellie Vosteen

Layla Obregon

Leonela Martinez

Lesleigh Murphy

Luis Daniel Garcia-Barnett

Mackenzie Dabbs

Madalyn Sirmons

Parker Brown

Sally Lyle

Samantha Fell

Sara Kelly

Sarah Talley

Scott Richardson

Seth Lee

Shatarria Jones

Shelby Robinson

Shyanne Bailey

Stephen Barlow

Steven Locastro

Tori King

Trent Decker

Zelda Wilson


Three-year marcher:

Abigail Vining


Outstanding bandsman awards:


Jay Proctor

Misty Medina

Mike Hurst



A.J. Oliff

Jesse Shirley



Sarah Moran

Ethan Hall



Joe Ardovino

Alex Franck


Outstanding section members:

Flute – Sarah Moran

Clarinet – Gracie Smith and Layla Obregon

Alto Sax – Stephen Barlow and Joseph Lide

Tenor Sax – Seth Lee

Trumpet – Joe Ardovino and Alex Jordan

Horn – Alex Franck and Daniel Luis Garcia-Barnett

Trombone – Trent Decker

Euphonium – Kellie Vosteen

Tuba – Daniel Turner

Percussion front ensemble – Chris Guerin

Percussion battery – Parker Brown and Charile McLean

Dancer – Tori King

Majorette – Emma Blaising

Guard – Lesleigh Murphy