Meet the kids who have a say in ACS’ future

Published 9:25 am Thursday, November 16, 2017

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – Thirty four students at Alabaster’s schools will continue to have a direct voice in the school system’s future, after Alabaster School Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers recently began meeting with his 2017-2018 student advisory committee.

“We’ve already had one meeting, and it went very well,” Vickers said during a Nov. 13 Alabaster Board of Education meeting. “They tell us things that some people don’t think about, but are a big deal to our students.

“We take it seriously, and we find out about what works and what doesn’t work,” Vickers added. “We get a lot of great feedback.”

The advisory committee began in 2015 as a way for Vickers and other school leaders to hear feedback and suggestions directly from the students who are impacted by the school system’s offerings.

Since then, ACS has taken the committee’s voice into consideration when making decisions for the system, Vickers said.

During the Nov. 13 meeting, Vickers and the School Board recognized the six new members of the committee, who will serve a two-year term in the group.

The new members are:

Creek View Elementary School:

-Gerrisyn Shipman

-Cooper Harris

-Avery Knierim

Meadow View Elementary School

-AJ Shaw

-Jayden Daza

-Brookelyn Nichols

In addition to the six new members, several students returned for their second year of service on the committee this year:

Thompson Intermediate School

-Lauren Blackmon

-Jace Powell

-Emma Roberson

-Maddie Johnson

-Jacob Ryee

-Kaelci Theuri

-Cooper Dorough

-Sasha Gann

Thompson Sixth Grade Center

-Tucker Arrington

-Ashlyn Gamble

Thompson Middle School

-Matthew Crumpton

-Katherine Cruz Duenas

-Olivia Douglas

-Laila Baker

-Andrew Wilson

Thompson High School

-Kayleigh Addison

-Braydon Gray

-Leanna Robinson

-Tori Williams

-Shanan Sturgill

-Noah Tanner

-Lizbeth Angel

-Rondell Smith

-Will Vickers

-Jillian Harris

-Gabby Lozito

-Tanner Wilson