SCHS presents ‘Elf the Musical’

Published 8:58 am Thursday, November 30, 2017

From Staff Reports

COLUMBIANA – Students at Shelby County High School have been decking the halls and donning their holiday spirit since late September in preparation for their winter play, “Elf the Musical.” While SCHS normally presents a short holiday play each year performed by students in Kathryn Andrews Myrick’s theatre classes, this year marks the first time that she and music director, Ashlyn Kuyrkendall, have ever directed a winter musical.  “Elf the Musical” is based on the 2003 holiday comedy, “Elf,” starring Will Ferrell, Zooey Deschanel, and James Caan.

Performances will take place in the SCHS auditorium Dec. 8 at 7 p.m., Dec.10 at 2:30 p.m. and 7 p.m., and Dec. 11 at 4 p.m.  Tickets are $7 for general admission, and $10 and $20 for reserved seating.  Tickets may be purchased prior to the show, or online at  Doors open at 6:15 p.m. for the 7 p.m. shows, 1:45 p.m. for the 2:30 p.m. show, and 3:15 p.m. for the 4:00 p.m. show.  A limited number of “Elf the Musical” t-shirts will be available to purchase for $15.  SCHS is located at 101 Washington Street in Columbiana.

As an added bonus, the cast from “Elf the Musical” will be featured on their own float and will perform in the Columbiana Christmas Parade this year, on December 7th at 7 p.m.

Students involved in Elf the Musical are as follows: Chip Nash (Buddy the Elf), Tyler Morris (Walter Hobbs), Maddie Kirkland (Jovie), Aniston Cothran (Emily Hobbs), Wade White (Santa Claus), and Emily Dickerson (Michael Hobbs). Other cast and crew include:  Anna Brown, Brentleigh Young, Danielle Dickerson, David Pasquini, Elijah Hockman, Emma Kirkland, Erika Stetson, Gaylon Beasley, Haley Guy, Hall Hobbs, Hannah Preston, Harrison Binkerd, J.P. Bryan, Jennifer Harrison, Jessie Davis, Jonathan Stogner, Kainaan Cox, Katherine Stripling, Kortni Gowers, Mandy Simpson, Marlie Bailey, Mary Moore, Max Kearley, McKinley Morris, Megan Pitts, Molly Beth Gay, Morgan Jeffries, Rachel Quinn, Rhianna Anderson, Samantha Hogg, Samuel Cox, Shana Potts, Shyanne Beane, Taylor Wakefield, Treniti Briggs, and Tyler Echols.  Kobe Martin is the stage manager, and the choreographer is Maggie Stogner. Set design and build provided by Michael Myrick, and set detailing, as well as art work, created by SCHS art teacher Michelle Branson and the following Art Club students:  Savannah Brown, Dayli Wood, Ethan Howell, Kafia Lollar, Jada Moore, Micah Searcy, Marlana Headley, Aniah Washington, Savannah Howard, Kaitlyn Collins, Joseph Lee, Shelby Peel, Melissa Hyde, Mollie Wilder, Alex Hyatt, Calista Smith, and Jasmine Carrillo.