Who qualified for local, state offices?

Published 10:01 am Monday, February 12, 2018

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

Several returning and new faces have declared their intentions to run for a multitude of Shelby County and statewide offices, as the qualifying period came to an end on Feb. 9.

Many offices are up for election this year, with the majority of local candidates qualifying to run on the Republican ticket, meaning most county offices will be decided during the June 5 primary election. A primary runoff election, if needed, will be held on July 17.

The following candidates have qualified to run for county offices, with incumbent candidates noted with an “I”:

Shelby County Circuit Judge

Phillip Bahakel (R)

Patrick Franklin (R)

Patrick Kennedy (R)

Julie A. Palmer (R)

Nicole Saia (R)

Shelby County Circuit Clerk

Sharon Cooper (R)

Mary Harris (R) (I)

Shelby County Board of Education, Place 1

Jimmy W. Bice (R) (I)

Bragan B. Feldman (R)
Courtney Kalnoske (R)

Shelby County Board of Education Place 2 
David Bobo (R) (I)

Susan Lehman (D)
Shelby County Coroner

Lina Evans (R) (I)

David Warren (R)

Shelby County Probate Judge

Allison Boyd (R)

Joe Starnes (R)

Stella Tipton (R)

Shelby County Sheriff

Kenneth Lynn Bailey (R)

John Samaniego (R) (I)
Shelby County Superintendent of Education

Lewis Brooks (R)

Kristi Sayers (R)

Local state Legislature seats feature a mix of Republican and Democratic candidates. After the primary election in June, the races will be decided during the general election on Nov. 6.

AL Senate District 11

Jim McClendon (R) (I)

Carl Carter (D)

AL Senate District 14

Cam Ward (R) (I)

Jerry McDonald (D)

AL Senate District 15

Miranda Carter (R)

Dan Roberts (R)

AL Senate District 16

J.T. “Jabo” Waggoner (R) (I)

Lindsey Deckard (D)

AL House District 15

Allen Farley (R) (I)

AL House District 41

Corley Ellis (R) (I)

Emily Anne Marcum (D)

AL House District 43

Arnold G. Mooney III (R) (I)

Carin Mayo (D)

AL House District 45

Ted Crockett (R)

Dickie Drake (R) (I)

AL House District 48

Jim Carns (R) (I)
William Wentowski (R)

AL House District 49

Donna Dorough Strong (R)

April Weaver (R) (I)

AL House District 73

Stephen Bryant (R)

Matt Fridy (R) (I)

Jack Jacobs (D)