ACS honors support personnel of the year


By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – Alabaster City Schools staff members who work behind the scenes – and sometimes at the forefront – to ensure the system’s success earned the spotlight on March 12 after being honored by their schools.

ACS Board of Education members honored each school’s Support Personnel of the Year during their meeting, and also selected the district’s top school support employee.

“I’d like to thank each of you for your service to Alabaster City Schools, and congratulate you for being recognized by each of your schools,” said ACS Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers.

The following employees from each school were honored during the meeting:


-Creek View Elementary School: Delphine Bolling

-Meadow View Elementary School: Khrista Walker

-Thompson Intermediate School: Emily McCain

-Thompson Sixth Grade Center: Troya Yoder

-Thompson Middle School: Valencia Barlow

-Thompson High School: Judy Clark


Yoder also was named the school system’s Support Person of the Year for going to great lengths to ensure the students at TSGC are taken care of. While reading a letter from school Principal Dr. Daniel Steele, Vickers said Yoder is “dependable, professional, flexible and compassionate.”

“Some people show up to work to do a job. This person shows up to work to make a difference,” Steele wrote about Yoder. And that’s what she does; she makes a difference every day.”

A few years ago, Yoder made one student a part of her family.

“A couple years ago, she formed a unique bond with one student in particular. As it turns out, this young boy was actually in need of a family. Then she and her family opened their hearts and their home, and she became a new mom,” Steele wrote. “The adoption was finalized a little over a year ago.”

In addition to the support personnel of the year awards, the School Board also honored the following other district winners:


-District Counselor of the Year: Daniel Birdsong

-District Child Nutrition Program Employee of the Year: Cathy Smith

-District Bus Driver of the Year: Michelle Pendleton