Meadow View salutes local veterans

Published 2:53 pm Wednesday, November 7, 2018

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – Multiple groups of students at Alabaster’s Meadow View Elementary expressed gratitude to local veterans for their service to the United States on Nov. 7, as the school held its annual community Veterans Day program in the school’s auditorium.

During the program, the MVES Singers performed several patriotic songs, the Thompson High School Air Force Junior ROTC color guard presented the colors and led the Pledge of Allegiance and the University of Montevallo Clarinet Choir played the songs of each branch of the U.S. Armed Forces as veterans in attendance stood to be recognized.

“Veterans, we thank you so much. We know that freedom isn’t free, and you sacrificed time away from your families to ensure we can enjoy the safety and freedoms we have,” said MVES Principal Rachea Simms. “This is just a small token of our appreciation to you. Boys and girls, thank you for sharing your gift of patriotism to our veterans.”

At the end of the event, students in Lisa Brasseaux’s class gave hugs and handwritten thank-you letters to each veteran in attendance.

“I hope that in some small way that these guys behind me have expressed to you how much we appreciate your service,” said MVES music teacher Dennis Jones, noting the choir had been practicing twice a week before school for several weeks leading up to the performance.

University of Montevallo trumpet player Joe Ardovino performed a somber rendition of “Taps,” following a moment of silence in memory of soldiers who have paid the ultimate price.

Throughout the choir performance, several MVES students came to the microphone on stage as they explained the history behind the patriotic pieces they were singing.

Student speakers were Lilli Acker, Aubrey Bauer, Ella Broach, Mary Michael Cheek, Luca Herenu, Kelsi Higgins, Kanyon Holifield, Neely Hulsey, Kennedy Jackson, Cienna Jeffers, Brodie Shelton, Jordyn Smith, Patrick Thomas, Sadie Walls, Ashtyn Wood and Chancellor Young.