Ninety-two HMS students inducted into NJHS

Published 1:49 pm Monday, December 10, 2018

By GRAHAM BROOKS / Staff Writer

HELENA – The gym inside Helena Middle School was packed the morning of Tuesday, Dec. 4, but not for anything related to athletics.

Instead, 92 Helena Middle School students were honored for their induction into the prestigious National Junior Honor Society at a special ceremony.

“The National Junior Honor Society is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle level students,” according to “More than just an honor roll, NJHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, character and citizenship.”

The NJHS was established in 1929 and today it is estimated that more than one million students participate in official honor society activities.

Eligibility requirements for NJHS includes having a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 or better, voluntary service contributions to the school or community, showing leadership ability, having good character by demonstrating high standards of honesty and reliability and demonstrating the importance of civic engagement.

The following Helena Middle School students were inducted into the NJHS on Dec. 4:

–Mary Beth Allen

–Phillip Allen

–Allie Rae Anderson

–Stewart Baker

–Trace Barnett

–Abby Berish

–Cooper Bonilla

–Lila Briggs

–Gavin Brown

–Andrew Burch

–Julian Busby

–Daniel Campos

–Tucker Carson

–Brody Chafin

–Sydney Cheeks

–Connor Creighton

–Emma Cunningham

–Ketch Daniel

–Owen Davis

–Emma Devereaux

–Maggie Dillahunty

–Sienna Duke

–Kurt Dy

–Emily Dyar

–Ethan Eads

–Tyler Farish

–Seth Farnham

–Macie Flynn

–Landon Fleisher

–Hunter Fernambucq

–Joseph Ford

–Isaac Gamble

–Jack Golson

–Will Griffin

–Grant Gurganus

–Olivia Head

–Camille Hervig

–Judy Higgins

–Jayce Hitt

–Joseph Hock

–Chris Hood

–AJ Horstead

–Alyssa Howell

–Jerry Jackson

–Tanner James

–Foster Johnson

–Aidan Kennah

–Thomas Kim

–Emily Kolb

–Michael Manning

–Kierstin Martin

–Olivia Martin

–Marisa McGraw

–Hunter McKelvey

–Mary McLendon

–Gabe Merchant

–Sophia Merchant

–Elizabeth Miller

–Maryanne Miller

–Trevor Moore

–Madison Morris

–Scotlyn Naron

–Amie Oakes

–Jordan Owen

–Alex Pierce

–Amelia Powell

–Tyler Pruitt

–August Ragland

–Sammy Ratley

–Stella Reynolds

–Sydney Risch

–Rodney Ross

–Hunter Scoles

–Anna Kate Sellers

–Braden Sullivan

–Matthew Teague

–Hayden Thomas

–Jamie Thomas

–Jackson Thomas

–Adam Thomason

–Ethan Thornton

–Taylor Torbert

–Sara Turner

–Noah Walker

–Connor Washburn

–Larkin Watters

–Eli Weathers

–Gracey Whipple

–Joseph Wilkerson

–Colton Willmon

–Bradyn Wilson

For more information on the National Junior Honor Society, visit