SBMC names medical staff officers, department chairs

Published 8:28 am Thursday, March 7, 2019


ALABASTER – Shelby Baptist Medical Center has announced the hospital’s 2019 medical staff officers and department chairpersons. These physicians, who were elected by their peers, play an important role in the hospital decision-making process, working collaboratively with the board, administration and medical staff.

The Medical Staff organization helps to better define and monitor processes for physician credentialing, evaluation, peer review and discipline, according to the hospital.

The 2019 officers and chairpersons are:



-President – Amanda Denham, MD – pulmonology

-Vice chief of staff – Heinz Dueffer, MD – emergency medicine

-Secretary/treasurer – Daniel Gosdin, MD – anesthesia


Department Chairs

-Anesthesia chief – Kurt Senn, MD

-Emergency medicine chief – Joseph Tubbs, MD

-Medicine chief – Jeff Segrest, MD

-Medicine vice chief – Unnamed

-OB/GYN and pediatrics chief – Ashley Gooding, MD

-Pathology chief – Susan Harvey, MD

-Radiology chief – Patrick Grant, MD

-Surgery chief – Timothy Christopher, MD

-Surgery vice chief – Patrick Mills II, MD

-Quality/prescribing information chair – Jade Brice, MD

-Member-at-large – Daniel Allendorf, MD

-Member-at-large – Michael Passarella, MD

-Member-at-large – Michael Rodriguez, MD


“I consider it a privilege to practice medicine at Shelby Baptist Medical Center, and I look forward to the opportunity to serve in the capacity of Chief of Staff,” said SBMC Medical Staff President Dr. Amanda Denham. “I am honored to represent my esteemed colleagues in this role during Shelby Baptist’s 60th year of service to this community.”


“This hospital has long been a pillar for health care and community partner. Our highly skilled physicians, along with our dedicated clinicians and staff, positively impact the lives of our patients,” said SBMC CEO Daniel Listi. “On behalf of our hospital administration, I look forward to working with our 2019 medical staff officers and department chairs to continue to drive the standard of high quality care for which this hospital is known.”