ACS students and teachers awarded $5,000 in scholarships

Published 3:16 pm Wednesday, May 8, 2019

By Nathan Howell / Special to the Reporter

ALABASTER — The Alabaster City Education Association awarded five $1,000 scholarships to THS students and teachers during the organization’s annual banquet on May 7.

“The ACEA scholarship program was created in 2013 as a benefit to members of our association,” said Ava Andrew, ACEA president. “Each year we give scholarships for continuing education for our teachers and high school seniors going to college.”

The money is given out based on an essay submitted to the association, which is an affiliate of the larger Alabama Education Association. Winners of this years scholarships include seniors Brenden McCray and Parker Grillo, and teachers Janet Griffith, Chelsea Shanks and Blair Asbury.

McCray plans to use the scholarship when he attends Mississippi State University. Grillo will be attending the University of Alabama. Asbury and Griffith plan to use their scholarships for National Board Certification. Shanks is currently working toward an education specialist degree at the University of West Alabama.

The ACEA held a reception dinner for the award winners, where they were given their scholarships and provided a meal. The association also invited its UniServ Organizing Manager Labarron Mack to speak to the group.

Mack spoke about the value of hard work from the students and the significance of teachers and school staff in the life of students to facilitate their goals. He used a line from a popular hymn as a motif to explain why all of this is so important.

“May the works I’ve done, speak through me,” he repeated.

The association also used the banquet to recognize teachers retiring at the end of the current school year, all of whom are ACEA members: Dian McCray from THS,Judi Roberson from CVES and Donna Ott from TSGC. They were presented certificates and gifts by AEA District 13 Director Janet Novatnak.

The ACEA formed in 2013 and provides teachers with support, resources and lobbying to benefit educators in the area.