Chamber recognizes outstanding health care professionals

Published 4:46 pm Monday, September 16, 2019

PELHAM – Shelby County’s leading health care professionals were recognized at The Shelby County Chamber’s Fifth Annual Healthcare Professional of the Year luncheon on Wednesday, Aug. 28, at the Pelham Civic Complex.

At the event, co-sponsored by Buffalo Rock, awards were given to five health care professionals in the categories of Heart of Healthcare, Committed to Communities, Legacy of Excellence and Healthcare Professional of the Year. Two awards were given in the Committed to Communities category. A total of 34 people were nominated for an award.

Any health care professional employed in the Shelby County area was eligible to be nominated.

Nominee’s submitted information about their background, accomplishments, community impact, how they’ve improved the health of their patients and why they choose a career in health care. The information received from each nominee was reviewed by three judges and the recipients were chosen. All of the nominees were recognized during the luncheon program.

“Given that Shelby County is the healthiest county in the state, these professionals play an integral part in making that happen each year,” said Chamber President and CEO Kirk Mancer.

The featured speaker at the event was Meg Baker, operations manager at Gym Time Fitness. She talked to guests about how to live a healthy lifestyle. She said a healthy lifestyle includes eating a variety of healthy foods and foods that are rich in Omega 3. She said it’s best to limit typical American foods and encouraged people to eat foods that contain probiotics.

The award winners in each category were:

-2019 Healthcare Professional of the Year: Marcy Campbell, RN, Health Science, Shelby County Schools/Shelby Baptist Medical Center.
-Heart of Healthcare: Libby Schropp, Brookwood Baptist Pharmacy and Gym Time Fitness.
-Committed to Community: Stan R. Stubbs, D.C., Shelby Family Chiropractic and Joseph Zanthos, D.M.D, Premier Family Dentistry.
-Legacy of Excellence: Bryson Waldo, M.D., Children’s of Alabama/ Inverness Pediatrics

The 2019 nominees were:

Dr. Timothy J. Ansley – Inverness Eye Care

Robert B. Bashinsky, M.D. – Children’s of Alabama-Greenvale Pediatrics

Mark Bearman, M.D. – Vision First Eye Center

Megan Bullard, M.D. – Columbiana Clinic

Marcy Campbell, RN – Health Science, Shelby County Schools and Shelby Baptist Medical Center

Adam Benjamin Carroll, M.D. – Birmingham Internal Medicine Associates

Dr. Emily Bell Casey – Andrews Sports Medicine

Tracy L. Waldrop Cato, RN – Shelby Baptist Medical Center

Dr. Ricardo E. Colberg – Andrews Sports Medicine

Kelly E. Fordham, PA-C – Village Dermatology

Dr. Lee Goldenberg – Greystone Chiropractic

Gina Gonzales – Helena High School

Vickie Harris, LPN – Mending Hearts, LLC

Dr. J Timothy Haywood – Inverness Family and Cosmetic Dentistry

Roselle Pineda Helmke, RN – Shelby Baptist Medical Center

Dr. Rachel Henderson – Andrews Sports Medicine

Vicki Holden, RN – Hoover City Schools

Tracy Jacobs, M.D. – Grandview Medical Center

Dr. John McBrayer – Heart South

Dr. Wayne McGough – Andrews Sports Medicine

Dr. Vicki Moore – Birmingham Internal Medicine Associates

Dr. Jody O. Ortega – Andrews Sports Medicine

Dr. Kelly Page – Chelsea Orthodontics

Kimberly Cornelius Peace, M.D. – American Family Care

Dr. J. Scott Robertson – Dr. J. Scott Robertson EMT

Dr. Michael K. Ryan – Andrews Sports Medicine

Lizabeth “Libby” Schropp – Brookwood Baptist Pharmacy and Gym Time

Dr. David Schultz – Alabama Cardiovascular Associates

Dr. Jenny Sobera – Village Dermatology

Stan R. Stubbs, D.C. – Shelby Family Chiropractic

Bryson Waldo, M.D. – Children’s of Alabama-Inverness Pediatrics

Dr. Lauri Williams – Alabaster Smiles

Dr. Roderick C. White – Roderick White Chiropractic

Joseph A. Zanthos, D.M.D. – Premier Family Dentistry