Students inducted into Junior City Council

Published 1:42 pm Thursday, October 24, 2019


MONTEVALLO – An induction ceremony for Montevallo Junior City Council members was held during the Oct. 14 Montevallo City Council meeting.

Abigail Heuton will continue to serve as Junior Mayor. Other officers are Vice Mayor Rebeca Emiliano, Secretary Kayla Mitchell and Treasurer Olivia Gilbert.

MJCC members include Brady Baugh, Brett Terrill, Luke Emiliano, Cara Nolen, William Zou, Gavin Monk, Karen Silva and Taven Dubose.

“Our mission is to improve youth civic engagement and quality of life,” Heuton said. “Some communities don’t have youth who are involved. We would like Montevallo to be different (and) to have our own voice in the future of Montevallo.”

The MJCC is comprised of middle and high school students who are enrolled at local schools or live in Montevallo.

Since forming in 2013, the MJCC has completed projects such as establishing a local teen center, developing a merchant discount card, raising funds to purchase baseball helmets, hosting a mayoral youth debate, sponsoring holiday events for children and hosting Moonlight Movies and Color Run events.

Following the MJCC members’ induction, the following Montevallo High School students were recognized for scoring 25 or higher on the ACT: Bella Fancher, Sammy Zou, Grace Carr, Jaquel Williams, Alexander Martinez, Abigail Heuton, Yordan Landaverde Santiago, MyCaya Jones, Savanna Rogers, Chaniya Reed, Janie Gray, Isabella Alexander, William Landers, Aiyana Race, Allison Tryon and William Zou.