ACS recognizes members of Superintendent’s Student Advisory Committee

Published 4:33 pm Monday, December 2, 2019

ALABASTER – More than 40 Alabaster City School students will have an opportunity to have an impact on their schools as members of the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Committee.

At an Alabaster Board of Education meeting on Nov. 21, 42 students were recognized by the board. The students selected for the council will hold regular meetings with Vickers, and will serve as his advisors during some decision-making processes. Vickers said the idea to install water fountains with bottle fillers in schools was an idea that came from one of the advisory committees. The high school committee also provided valuable feedback about the placement of lockers in the new Thompson High School.

Vickers, who came to Alabaster in 2013, said he has formed student advisory groups in each school district where he’s served as the superintendent. He said it allows him to keep the students’ thoughts in mind while planning for the future.

Four students were selected from Creek View and Meadow View elementary schools, nine from Thompson Intermediate School, 10 from Thompson Middle School and 15 from Thompson High School.

The following students were selected from the following schools:

CVES (Term 1)
3rd Graders
Alianna Qaquish
Solomon Raife
Caleb Smitherman
Javaris Lykes

MVES (Term 1)
3rd Graders
Francisco Diaz
JT Martin
Aiyana Urresta
Ellie Joe Smith

Thompson Intermediate
4th Graders
Charlie Jean Reeder
Mary Ellis Hester
Sophie Davis
Kenyon Holifield
Mary Michael Cheek
Trinity Wills

5th Graders
Emily Reid
Gatlin Summerville
Luke Owens

Thompson Middle
6th Graders
Hanna Moseley
Kaelci Theuri
Leah McCay
Ruby Ann Stapelton

7th Graders
Alyssa Campbell
John William Smitherman
Madeline Johnson

8th Graders
Katie Collier
Monica Sturgill
Natalie Vargas

Thompson High
Amelia Forrester
Brittnee Robinson
Josephine Phillips

Abby McGee
Anna Cate Tanner
Jeffery Tubbs
Kendall Moseley

Abbi Donahoo
Emaline Morris
Kelsey Tangle
Tyler Roach

Abril Garza
Owen May
Zakiria Holifield
James Randol Willis