Three Shelby County schools recognized for school safety

Published 3:18 pm Tuesday, December 17, 2019


Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall recently announced winners of the 2019 Safe Schools Initiative Awards, including three schools in Shelby County.

This year, the program was expanded to include three awards for highest excellence in school safety as well as certificates of special recognition for schools building a culture for school safety. These new categories are in addition to the traditional safe school awards for each public school district and for a private school.

Three schools in Shelby County will receive the certificates of special recognition for building a culture for school safety: Chelsea Middle School, Mt Laurel Elementary School and Oak Mountain Middle School.

“The safety of our schoolchildren is a vital matter foremost in all of our minds and hearts, and this year we have enhanced the Safe Schools Initiative Awards to encourage and honor more of those who have implemented strong programs to protect our students, teachers and other staff,” Marshall said. “These schools have developed innovative programs and taken practical, effective steps to combat the threat of violence that has become a terrible part of our modern society. Their dedication and resolve to provide a safe haven for learning is an inspiration to us all.”