First RC3 group competes at Leadership Conference

Published 3:09 pm Tuesday, March 10, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...


HOOVER – Riverchase Career Connection Center students participated in the 2020 HOSA State Leadership Conference in Montgomery Feb. 20-21.

These students competed against hundreds of health science students from across the state.

Students who placed in the top three in their divisions have earned the right to attend the International Leadership Conference this June in Houston Texas. The top six finishers may also earn the right to go to Houston depending on the success of the qualifiers ahead of them.

“We are especially proud of this group of students as it was our inaugural year as RC3 combined a group from Hoover High School, Homewood High School, and Spain Park High School,” read a news release from Hoover City Schools.

Participants from RC3 included:

  • Veterinary Science: Kaleigh Rice (Spain Park), third place.
  • Forensic Medicine: Taylor Wilson (Hoover) and Ramey Medders (HHS), first place.
  • CPR/First Aid: Mitchell Cook (HHS) and Einas Ali (HHS), second place (Einas substituted in as Mitchell’s partner the day before the event after having prepared for a completely different event all year); Heather Hancock (HHS) and Ansley Graber (HHS), top six (Heather’s partner got sick the night before the second round and Ansley stepped in).
  • Community Emergency Response Team: Camryn Hill (HHS) and Tykie Sfakianos (HHS), top six.
  • Physical Therapy: Maddy Brown (SP), first place; Anna Hale Winter (HHS), second place.
  • Biomedical Laboratory Science: Karim Mikhail (HHS), first place; Sreekiran Nataraj (HHS), top six.
  • Nutrition: Sarah Fu (HHS), second place; Malaika Maqbool (HHS), top six.
  • Medical Law and Ethics: Arzoo Charania (HHS), third place.
  • Extemporaneous Health Poster: Lisa Koshcheyeva (SP), top six.
  • Medical Innovations: Adam Ebrahim, Amaar Ebrahim, Hannah Yi and Jessica Jacob (all SP), first place.
  • Sayaan Essani (HHS), Yasmine Oliveira (SP), Zayan Budhwani (HHS) and Iqra Ladhani (SP), top six.