Alabaster honors Teen Council seniors

Published 2:02 pm Tuesday, May 19, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

ALABASTER – The Alabaster Teen Council was honored by Mayor Marty Handlon at the City Council meeting on Monday, May 18.

Though the presentation was held at the meeting because of COVID-19 restrictions, Handlon said she was glad the students were honored in front of the Council.

“This is a much more fitting environment—in front of the Council—so that you can be part of recognizing these young leaders,” Handlon said. “You have been instrumental in the success of this program with your funding and allowing your teens to be part of it.”

The Teen Council started in 2014 with a group of 12. Though none of those 12 returned the next year, there were still 23 members for 2015.

Five of the 17 seniors recognized on May 18 were part of the organization for four years.

Teen Council members are required to complete 25 service hours each year, but all of these recognized at the meeting surpassed that number each year of their involvement, with three students completing more than 200 service hours over four years.

Council President Scott Brakefield said he hopes the students will be inspired to make Alabaster a better place to live.

“It’s pretty cool to see a group of teens come together and learn a little bit about our city and then volunteer their time,” Brakefield said.

Also at the meeting, three winners of the $1,000 Central State Bank Scholarship were announced: Savanna Rakestraw, Noah Tanner and Abby Grace Walker.

Below is a list of all seniors recognized.

  • One year on the Teen Council: Holly Stokesbary, Camalie Allen, Chloe Sims, Ashley Lemley, Pablo Lopez and Jaden Sims.
  • Two years: Zoie Casey.
  • Three years: Riley Stoneback, Maggie Joe O’Neal, Bryne Ehlers, Blakely Channell and Sawyer Pate.
  • Four years: Savanna Rakestraw, Maggie Keller, Kylie Williams, Noah Tanner and Abby Grace Walker.

“Each of these seniors have served as helpers and mentors to the underclassmen,” Handlon said. “It is my hope they will take all they have gained from this experience and soar to greater heights in the next phase of their journey.”