Qualifying ends for District 49 special election

Published 3:12 pm Thursday, June 4, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...


The Alabama Republican Party closed its candidate qualifying period for the Alabama House of Representatives District 49 Special Primary Election on Tuesday, June 2, at 5 p.m. per the proclamation issued by Gov. Kay Ivey.

The following individuals have qualified to run for the District 49 seat:

  • Russell Bedsole
  • James Dean
  • Chuck Martin
  • Jackson McNeely
  • Mimi Penhale
  • Donna Strong

The vacancy in House District 49 was created when Weaver announced her resignation shortly before the end of the legislative session. She was appointed to serve in the Trump administration as a regional director of the Department of Health and Human Services.

House District 49 consists of portions of Bibb, Shelby and Chilton Counties.

The special primary election for House District 49 will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 4. If a runoff election is needed, it will be held on Tuesday, Sept. 1. The special general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 17.