UM fishing team continues legacy of success

Published 1:55 pm Friday, June 26, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...


The University of Montevallo bass fishing team has been named one of the top teams in the nation by Bass Pro Shops, continuing its run as one of the most successful collegiate teams over the past several years.

UM placed second on the 2020 Bass Pro Shops School of the Year list following the conclusion of the 2019-2020 season, marking the team’s highest-ever rank on the list. This spring, the team posted an overall 3.0 GPA.

In the past year, the team has been crowned champions at the 2020 Alabama Bass Nation College State Championship, the 2019 FLW Southern Conference Championship and the 2019 Alabama Bass Nation College State Championship. The team placed third in the 2020 Bass Pro Shops Collegiate Bass Lunker Challenge, placed fourth in the 2019 FLW National Championship and placed sixth in the 2019 Bass Pro Shops National Rankings.

“I think we see ourselves now as one of the best teams, if not the best team in the country, and we will all be gunning for that number one spot next year,” said team member Adam Carroll. “I think the thing I love the most about our team is our passion and drive to be the best we all can be, and how awesome the camaraderie is between each team and the team as a whole.”

The team has seen success for more than a decade, with high finishes in regional and national events since 2008.

The following students were on the 2019-2020 UM bass fishing team:

  • Justin Barnes, senior, Monroeville
  • Jarrett Brown, senior, Montevallo
  • Tyler Harless, senior, Helena
  • T. Russell, senior, McCalla
  • Adam Carroll, junior, Carrollton, Georgia
  • Weston Hollar, junior, Dadeville
  • Miller Spivey, junior, Tyler
  • Hunter Ward, junior, Rockford
  • Jack Baron, sophomore, Arnold, Maryland
  • Cal Culpepper, sophomore, Hamilton, Georgia
  • Trey Dickert, sophomore, Greer, South Carolina
  • Cade Holcomb, sophomore, Helena
  • Bradley Martin, sophomore, Pace, Florida
  • Da’Kendrick Patterson, sophomore, Ramer
  • Kopeland Rosser, sophomore, Helena
  • Elliot Torode, sophomore, Montgomery
  • Drew Traffanstedt, sophomore, Hoover
  • Mason Waddell, sophomore, Waverly Hall, Georgia
  • Merritt Arnold, freshman, Warkinsville, Georgia
  • Jaxson Brown, freshman, Birmingham
  • Tyler Cain, freshman, Bessemer
  • Josiah Campbell, freshman, Pelham
  • Cole Dodson, freshman, Gardendale
  • Solomon Glenn, freshman, Lakeville, Minnesota
  • Wesley Gore, freshman, Clanton
  • Trent Jones, freshman, Thorsby
  • Ethan King, freshman, Wilsonville
  • Grayson Morris, freshman, Birmingham
  • Chandler Olivier, freshman, Maylene
  • Griffin Phillips, freshman, Mount Olive
  • Chance Schwartz, freshman, Ball Ground, Georgia

James Willoughby, freshman, Gulfport, Mississippi