Alabaster City Schools honors Support Personnel of the Year

Published 4:29 pm Monday, March 18, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By NOAH WORTHAM | Managing Editor

ALABASTER – The Alabaster City Schools took time to honor and recognize the workers on the sidelines who make all the difference during a recent meeting.

On Monday, March 11, the ACS Board of Education recognized the school system’s Support Employees of the Year, Bus Drivers of the Year, Counselors of the Year and Child Nutrition Program Personnel of the Year.

“It was very exciting to celebrate these outstanding individuals,” ACS Superintendent Wayne Vickers said. “These employees enhance each school day in ways most people never see. To be able to award them for their hard work is gratifying and makes me proud to be their superintendent.”

During the meeting, the BOE called forward employees—honoring them with a round of applause and presenting them with a plaque that signified their accomplishment and impact on ACS.

“Extending well-deserved recognition to these high-flying employees is so important,” BOE President Adam Moseley said. “I know our Board of Education greatly appreciates the work of our support personnel. Without them, school would be impossible. This board meeting where we honor support personnel always proves to be one of the best of the year.”

The following ACS employees were recognized as Support Employee of the Year:

  • Melanie Penney of Creek View Elementary School
  • Beth Yarby of Meadow View Elementary School
  • Antonio Kelley of Thompson Intermediate School
  • Jesse Pilgreen of Thompson Middle School
  • Mattea Pavlick of Thompson High School
  • Renee Cofer of ACS Central Office

Cofer was also recognized as the overall district winner as Support Employee of the Year.

Amy Dillard was recognized during the meeting as the Elementary Counselor of the Year and Heather Myles was chosen as the Secondary Counselor of the Year.

The following ACS employees were recognized as Bus Drivers of the Year:

  • Billy Lawley of CVES
  • Mary Scales of MVES
  • Reggie Atkinson of TIS
  • Scott Morton of TMS
  • Larry Hemdon of THS

The following ACS employees were recognized as CNP Personnel of the Year:

  • Jennifer Johnson of CVES
  • Janey Johnson of MVES
  • LaKitta Coles-Bowers of TIS
  • Christina Pineda of TMS
  • Sarah Fussell of THS

Pineda was recognized as the overall district winner for CNP Personnel of the Year.