Vote to replace John Lyda as president of Hoover City Council fails to pass

Published 11:08 pm Monday, May 6, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By NOAH WORTHAM | Managing Editor 

HOOVER – A vote to vacate John Lyda’s position as president of the Hoover City Council and for Casey Middlebrooks to become the new president failed to pass during a regularly scheduled meeting on Monday, May 6.

During the meeting, Councilmember Steve McClinton made a motion to nominate Middlebrooks for the position of president of the Hoover City Council which would see the position taken from Lyda who serves as the current council president.

During discussion prior to the vote, Councilmember Khristi Driver shared that she was opposed to doing the vote at that time due to the fact that Lyda was not present at the meeting.

“Where I come from, having leadership courage includes doing things like this when the person is present in the room, and I am very much opposed to moving forward with this tonight,” she said.

McClinton did not share specific reasoning as to why he raised the motion to replace Lyda’s position as president but did respond to Driver’s concerns.

“Actions have consequences, and I believe Mr. Lyda has shown that already,” he said. “So, I take no joy in doing this, but it needs to be done.”

Before the vote, Middlebrooks shared that he had held a discussion with Lyda earlier that day but did not share specific details. He also spoke on how he would approach his new role, should the motion carry.

“I didn’t ask to be nominated,” he said. “I appreciate the leadership that Mr. Lyda has given us. As for myself—and I’ll recommend to any council member up here—I think we all are leaders and I would never vote against myself to take any role that the council wishes for me to serve as.”

After no further comments were made by any other members of the council, the council held a roll call vote with the following results:

  • Sam Swiney – Abstain
  • Khristi Driver – Nay
  • Derrick Murphy – Abstain
  • Casey Middlebrooks- Ay
  • Steve McClinton – Ay
  • Curt Posey – Ay

Due to receiving three votes for, one against and two abstains, the vote to change the city council president did not pass. As a result, Lyda currently remains the Hoover City Council president.