Area stars named to girls soccer All-Metro teams

Published 11:07 am Saturday, May 18, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By ANDREW SIMONSON | Sports Editor

After another big season for girls soccer in Shelby County, some of the best players from around the county were honored with spots on the All-Metro teams.

The girls soccer All-Metro teams were announced on Friday, May 17 and include the top players from around the Birmingham metro area as decided by the coaches.

As in previous seasons, the teams were divided in two divisions. Briarwood, Chelsea, Oak Mountain, Spain Park, Thompson, Hewitt-Trussville, Homewood, Hoover, Mountain Brook and Vestavia Hills were eligible for the A-Division teams.

As for the B-Division, the eligible teams were Helena, Indian Springs, Pelham, Westminster at Oak Mountain, Carver-Birmingham, Clay-Chalkville, Gardendale, Huffman, John Carroll, Pell City and Springville.

Spain Park’s Tatum Ahlemeyer walked away with Player of the Year honors for the A-Division for her big performances in the Jags’ perfect regular season.

Taylor Leib of Briarwood was named a Co-Captain for the A-Division team alongside Mountain Brook’s Langston Lilly after the schools faced each other for the Class 6A state championship.

In the B-Division, Indian Springs’ Addison Doyle earned Co-Captain honors alongside Zoey Blaszcynsk of Springville. Rebecca Sierra-Burciaga of Springville won B-Division Player of the Year.

Spain Park had six selections to the All-Metro A-Division teams, including forward Reese Oldfield and midfielders Ahlemeyer and Addy Soehn on the First Team, midfielder Morgan Anthony and defender Evyn Williams on the Second Team and an Honorable Mention for goalkeeper Morgan Pritchett.

Oak Mountain, Briarwood, Thompson and Chelsea each had four selections to the teams for their efforts this season.

For Oak Mountain, forward Kati Anne Shepherd and defenders Avery Smith and Raegan Whitaker made the First Team and goalkeeper Ella Pierce earned an Honorable Mention.

Briarwood forward Taylor Leib and defender Erin Gilbert represented the Lions on the First Team, forward Brooklyn Barnett made the Second Team and defender Mallon Sigler received an Honorable Mention.

Thompson’s Dia Montiel-Duenas earned a midfielder spot on the First Team, and she was joined by three Warriors teammates on the All-Metro teams: midfielder Charli Ganntt on the Second Team and midfielder Nathalie Gonzalez and defender Shea Eichelberger on the Honorable Mentions list.

Chelsea was represented on the Second Team by midfielder Marley Brown and defenders Ellen McKinney and Isabelle Willis and on the Honorable Mentions list by midfielder Harper Carter.

In the B-Division, Helena midfielder Miah Rosener and goalkeeper Addyson Cook made the First Team, forward Baileigh Rumage earned a Second Team spot and defender Ashlynn Beery earned an Honorable Mention.

Indian Springs forward Ashna Mehra and defender Addison Doyle earned spots on the First Team, midfielder Simone Bermudez made the Second Team and midfielder Beth Scarborough received an Honorable Mention.


Pelham’s Claire Robinson earned a defender spot on the First Team, midfielder Lacey Lambert received Second Team honors and forward Valerie Jamison and midfielder Janelle Ramos received Honorable Mentions.

To see the full list for both divisions, read more below:


A-Division First Team:

Destiny “DD” Udeh, Hoover, Forward

Kati Ann Shepherd, Oak Mountain, Forward

Reese Oldfield , Spain Park, Forward

Taylor Leib, Briarwood, Midfield

Annie McBride, Homewood, Midfield

Elise Marquardt, Hoover, Midfield

Langston Lilly, Mountain Brook, Midfield

Tatum Ahlemeyer, Spain Park, Midfield

Addy Soehn, Spain Park, Midfield

Dia Montiel-Duenas, Thompson, Midfield

Erin Gilbert, Briarwood, Defender

Libby Armstrong, Hewitt Trussville, Defender

Avery Smith, Oak Mountain, Defender

Raegan Whitaker, Oak Mountain, Defender

River Riley, Vestavia Hills, Defender

Laine Minich, Mountain Brook, Goalkeeper


A-Division Second Team:

Brooklyn Barnett, Briarwood, Forward

Teagan McGrew, Vestavia Hills, Forward

Marley Brown, Chelsea, Midfield

Kate Willoughby, Hewitt Trussville, Midfield

Anna Mayor, Mountain Brook, Midfield

Sophie Hicks, Mountain Brook, Midfield

Morgan Anthony, Spain Park, Midfield

Charli Gantt, Thompson, Midfield

Ellen “Texas” McKinney, Chelsea, Defender

Isabelle Willis, Chelsea, Defender

Addie Rutland, Hewitt Trussville, Defender

Sage Thomas, Hoover, Defender

Lorelai Wei, Mountain Brook, Defender

Evyn Williams, Spain Park, Defender

Mackenzie Bridge, Vestavia Hills, Defender

Lane Morton, Hoover, Goalkeeper


Honorable Mentions:

Ryanne Tucker, Homewood, Forward

Suzanna Busbee, Homewood, Forward

Betsy Whitson, Vestavia Hills, Forward

Harper Carter, Chelsea, Midfield

Megan Tucker, Homewood, Midfield

Auryn Tillette, Spain Park, Midfield

Nathalie Gonzalez, Thompson, Midfield

Anna Claire Black, Vestavia Hills, Midfield

Mallon Sigler, Briarwood, Defender

Ellie Christian, Hewitt Trussville, Defender

Kelly West, Hoover, Defender

Shea Eichelberger, Thompson, Defender

Brecken Phillips, Hewitt Trussville, Goalkeeper

Ella Pierce, Oak Mountain, Goalkeeper

Morgan Pritchett, Spain Park, Goalkeeper


B-Division First Team:

Tamia Motley, Carver, Forward

Mickelyn Ortega, Huffman, Forward

Ashna Mehra, Indian Springs, Forward

Kaylin Stallings, Leeds, Forward

Caroline Hathcox, Mortimer Jordan, Forward

Miah Rosener, Helena , Midfield

Mia Wos, John Carroll, Midfield

Mattilyn “MG” Osbourne, Pell City, Midfield

Rebecca Sierra-Burciaga, Springville, Midfield

Zoey Blaszczynski, Springville, Midfield

Lily Powell, Gardendale, Defender

Addison Doyle, Indian Springs, Defender

Olivia Messina, John Carroll, Defender

Claire Robinson, Pelham, Defender

Addisyn Cook, Helena, Goalkeeper


B-Division Second Team:

Baileigh Rumage, Helena, Forward

Carmen Richardson, Hueytown, Forward

Sophia Sevier, John Carroll, Forward

Ahnaya Pinkney, Leeds, Forward

Carson Harper, Gardendale, Midfield

Tindel Holsomback, Gardendale, Midfield

Simone Bermudez, Indian Springs, Midfield

Lacey Lambert , Pelham, Midfield

Maggie Nalley, Springville, Midfield

Grace Flores, Fultondale, Defender

Angel Wilson, Huffman, Defender

Katie Shadix, Pell City, Defender

Kelley McWhorter, Springville, Defender

Meredith Davis, John Carroll, Goalkeeper


B-Division Honorable Mentions:

Miriah White, Huffman, Forward

Kendyll Wilson            , Gardendale, Forward

Valerie Jamison, Pelham, Forward

Olivia Womack, Pell City, Forward

Mya Strahan, Clay-Chalkville, Midfield

Beth Scarborough, Indian Springs, Midfield

Tori Botthof, John Carroll, Midfield

Janelle Ramos, Pelham, Midfield

Brooke Bell, Pell City, Midfield

Ashlynn Beery, Helena, Defender

Genesis Osceueda, Huffman, Defender

Gabby Williams, Leeds, Defender

Michelle Maradiaga, Carver, Goalkeeper

Lainey Calloway, Gardendale, Goalkeeper